Skip navigation links (access key: Z)Library and Archives Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaSymbol of the Government of Canada
Français - Version française de cette pageHome - The main page of the Institution's websiteContact Us - Institutional contact informationHelp - Information about using the institutional websiteSearch - Search the institutional - Government of Canada website

Archived Content

This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. Web pages that are archived on the Internet are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats of this page on the Contact Us page.

Music Archives at the National Library of Canada

LUCAS, CLARENCE, 1866-1947

Thumbnail[60K] Page of Ossian - Ballade celtique, Op. 78 by composer Clarence Lucas.  (by permission of Jessica Luginbuhl Lucas)

Clarence Lucas fonds.  - 1874-1947.  - 94 cm of textual records.  - 101 photographs. 

Biographical sketch
Smithville, Ontario native Clarence Lucas moved to Montréal with his family in 1878 and studied piano, violin and organ there.  In addition to conducting an amateur orchestra, he played the organ in a number of churches and was a violinist in the Montreal Philharmonic Society.  Around 1885, he continued his training in Paris with Georges-Eugène Marty and Théodore Dubois.  Returning to Canada in 1888, Lucas taught harmony and counterpoint at the Toronto College of Music, and in 1889, became musical director of Wesleyan Ladies College in Hamilton.  During his extensive career, he also worked in London, New York and Paris as a correspondent and editor for the Musical Courier.  In 1904, the artist composed and conducted his musical comedy Peggy Machree in London, and also staged it in the United States during a brief tour in 1907.  His compositions include the opera The Money Spider, overtures to Othello, Macbeth and As You Like It, the cantata The Birth of Christ, and a Prelude and Fugue for piano. 

Scope and content
The fonds consists of records pertaining to Clarence Lucas' composing and writing activities.  It includes, among other items, a will; correspondence; a diary and note pad; writings on music and novels (A Composer's Equipment, A Parson's Daughter, Annazalla, Karnac, Ignota, Pianists I Have Met, etc.); ca. 350 manuscripts of compositions, transcriptions and arrangements for voice, choir, piano, organ, chamber orchestra, band and symphony orchestra; press clippings; and photographs of Lucas, members of his family and friends. 

Immediate source of acquisition:  acquired from Jessica Luginbuhl and Angelo A. Lucas, Clarence Lucas's daughter and son, in 1996 and 1997. 

Restrictions:  none. 

Finding aids:  provisional description. 

Proactive Disclosure