Archives Search

Search only: Library, Archives Advanced Search, Ancestors, Images, Search All

To submit a comment, contact

Search Help

Warning: Descriptive record is in process. These materials may not yet be available for consultation.

Description found in Archives

Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce fonds [multiple media]. 



Place of creation

No place, unknown, or undetermined

ca. 26.44 m of textual records
342 architectural drawings
3 maps
11 technical drawings
148 audio reels (ca. 152 h)
83 audio cassettes (ca. 85 h)
32 film reels (9 h, 9 min)
18 film reels (18 h, 15 min)
6 videocassettes (1 h, 4 min)
20 photographs : b&w

Added language of material: French

Scope and content

Fonds consists of records created and/or maintained by the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce and its predecessors. Researchers are cautioned that unprocessed textual records and records in other media are not reflected in this description. Photographs of tourism publicity taken by Canadian Government Travel Bureau. Topics are: grain elevators, harbour front, Port Arthur, Ont; Thousand Islands, Ont.; aerial views of Noden Causeway bridge linking international Falls, Minesota to Fort Frances, Ont.; aerial views of National Art Center, Canadian Parliament buildings, Rideau Canal and Locks, Confederation Park, Ottawa, Ont.; replica of THE NONESUCH built by The Hudson's Bay Company; ships crossing The St.Lawrence Seaway; Ship Gloxinia, Hamilton Harbour, Ont.

Textual records
32: Restricted by law
Architectural: technical drawings
90: Open
Cartographic material
90: Open
Moving images (film)
90: Open
Moving images (video)
96: Restrictions vary
Sound recordings
96: Restrictions vary
Graphic (photo)
90: Open
Archival reference no.
Former archival reference no.

Terms of use

Copyright belongs to the Crown. Credit Library and Archives Canada.

Finding aids are available. See lower level descriptions and accession records in ArchiviaNet (the NA website). (Other)

Biography / Administrative history

The Departments of Trade and Commerce and Industry were amalgamated under the Government Organization Act (17 Elizabeth II Chap. 28) in April, 1969 to form the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce (ITC). The legislative authority for the new department was subsequently vested in the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce Act (RSC 1970, Chap. I-11). ITC was given responsibility for furthering the growth, productivity, employment opportunities and prosperity of the Canadian economy through the development of manufacturing and processing industries, and the expansion of foreign trade and tourism.

The new department was organized into five functional groups including; Industry and Trade Development, Trade and Industrial Policy, the Office of Tourism, the Economics Office and Administration. Within Industry and Trade Development were nine operational sectors comprising the Trade Commissioner Service, the International Defence Programmes Branch, the Office of Science and Technology, the Office of Design, the Promotional Services Office, Industry and Trade Services, Publicity, Fairs and Missions and World Exhibitions. The remainder of the Department consisted of; the Office of General Relations, Area Relations and Industrial Policy; the Office of Tourism and the Economics Office. Eventually the Office of Special Import Policy and the Grains Programme Office were also added.

Throughout the history of the department the organization under went regular change to reflect the dual roles of its mandate, that of promotion of foreign trade and the attendant responsibilities coupled with the development and marketing of internal Canadian industrial sectors. Already by 1971 it was apparent that the original organization required review and restructuring. As a result the department was divided into separate Industry and International Trade groups under senior assistant deputy ministers. In 1973 a Planning, Research and Evaluation Group was added to the two previously listed. The Foreign Investment Review Agency was added to the department in 1974 under the appropriate parliamentary authority (21-22-23 Elizabeth II, Chap. 46).

With the creation of the Ministry of State for Economic Development in 1978 to oversee the advancement of policy and federal programmes related to the trade and industry sectors, the structure of IT has developed in 1971 was abolished leaving six equal sectorial groups reporting directly to the minister. These groups consisted of; International Trade Relations; the Trade Commissioner Service; the Enterprise Development Group; the Industry and Commerce Development Group; a Policy Planning Group; and the Office for the Reduction of Paper Burden. This structure was further amended in 1980 when the Enterprise Development Group and the Office for the Reduction of Paper burden were eliminated and their functions absorbed by the Finance Group and the new Energy Group. Additional Offices of Corporate Affairs, Departmental Review and Legal Services were also formed.

On September 30, 1982 the uneasy union of international trade and domestic industrial expansion were once again split into separate departments with the amalgamation of the industry, small business and tourism components of ITC with the regional development programmes of the Department of Regional Economic Expansion, which officially became the new Department of Regional Industrial Expansion in 1983 (under the authority of 29-30-31-32 Elizabeth II Chap. 167). At the same time the international trade functions of IT were transferred intact to the Department of External Affairs, eventually bringing on the renaming of that department to the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

Additional information

Source of title
17-18 Elizabeth, 1968-69, c.28

Further accruals are expected.


Other system control no.